What am I doing?

I’ve always been skeptical of blog writing.  I apologize if this sounds snobby or elitist but it always seemed a bit self-important to me.  Who am I to write something that others will want to read?  What do I have to say that will make a difference in someone’s life or faith or change the world?  It’s amazing really, because I inherited my mother’s circular story telling style and my father’s willingness to talk to a post if I thought it would listen.  And for that matter, I have been working diligently in recent months and years to try to get my church members to tell their faith stories as a way of welcoming those who need the hope of Christ, but who avoid church to understand that not all church’s are scary.

But now I find myself needing to write and wanting to write in hopes to share some things that I know and have learned, but more importantly to learn how to better communicate.  And to learn how to embody those qualities that I admire and claim, but don’t completely fulfill or live up to.

The name of my blog is Dayenu! Enough.  Dayenu! is a Hebrew word that means, “It would have been enough.”  It is most commonly used during the Seder meal which celebrates the Passover.  As the family remembers the story of the Passover when God released them from slavery in Egypt, there is a song of celebration that is sung about how it would have been enough that God freed the Hebrew’s from slavery, but God did more…  My daughter carries this word, Dayenu! as one of her middle names.  It is a constant reminder to me that God’s message is a message of abundance.   Not prosperity, but abundance.

It is my prayer that as I write I will begin recognizing the places where the “not enough”s are eaten up by all of the “but God did more”s.  And the Dayenu! spirit will be one that I can live more wholly into my life.

About lizdeweese

I'm a 30's something mom of two young children who serves as minister to a suburban church in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Cincinnati, Ohio. I'm married to a minister of another Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) just across the river in norther Kentucky. It's a challenge, but I love every bit of it!
This entry was posted in Becoming Liz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

