Getting back to it

Something inspiring happened to me on Friday, December 14, 2012. That was the day after I posted my latest blog posting: “A Star, A Star…” I had my highest audience ever! I was so excited that I wanted to get back to writing immediately. That same day a young man used an automatic weapon to spray bullets at his mother, a class full of kindergartens, some teachers, a principal and several other adults at a school in Connecticut.

I didn’t know what to say.

My excitement to get back to blogging was interrupted by my need to pray and cry and hold my family close.

So I waited.

In the meantime, it was Advent, and Christmas, one of my two busiest times of year.  I had work to do.  So I left the writing for a later time.  At the same time, there were many other ministers, bloggers, writers who were saying beautiful things about their own experience and understanding or in ability to understand what had happened at Sandy Hook Elementary school.  I didn’t want to re-say what others had already said well.  So, I waited some more.

Now I am back in the office and just itching to write.  I have some work to finish on my response to the tragedy in Connecticut.  I have some stories to tell about how Christmas and New Years have gone so far.  And I hope that that writing will inspire some insight to my faith life and to the ministry I am blessed to be a part of.

Happy New Year everyone!  Here’s to getting back to it.

About lizdeweese

I'm a 30's something mom of two young children who serves as minister to a suburban church in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Cincinnati, Ohio. I'm married to a minister of another Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) just across the river in norther Kentucky. It's a challenge, but I love every bit of it!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

