AHHHH!!! LENT

As many pastors and ministers know, Epiphany was especially short this year and Lent is around the corner, a week from Wednesday to be exact. And this year I have added several projects to the mix of regular church life so the discipline part of Lent is not going to be an option, it is going to be a necessity. This year our church is going to do a weekly Bible Study called “The Way,” by Adam Hamilton. I am really excited to lead these sessions, but it is an added responsibility. I have also registered for a continuing education class with Lexington Theological Seminary and the Center for Faith and Giving, both organizations of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). This will be the first of three courses I will take in a series that will teach about how to better lead congregations in creating a culture of generosity that does not live into the message of secrecy and scarcity, but lives out of a message of abundance to be shared by all. Again, I am really excited about this class, and the two that will follow, but man, it is going to take some time and effort. Meanwhile, our church is working on discerning God’s vision, and we will be completing some of the big steps for that process in February and March. We are also looking to hire a secretary and a youth director…

the-cost-of-disorganization1

I’m a little concerned that my future may hold some reality I cannot afford. My intent is to be intentional about self-care. I must make time for exercise, and meditation. I must take time for family, and good meals. I must make time for rest and sabbath. This will be my Lenten discipline this year. I will be looking to find simple wherever I can get it. As you prepare for Lent, where are you planning to focus? What are you planning to do to journey through the work of Christ’s ministry and prepare for Holy Week?  How will you struggle with Christ, and how will you welcome the gift of Resurrection?

You will be in my prayers as you prepare and as you journey. Blessings! Some food for thought.

tumblr_ma3xvdHJMG1qz4d4bo1_500

(P.S. I do not own the copyright for the image above, I found it on google images.)

About lizdeweese

I'm a 30's something mom of two young children who serves as minister to a suburban church in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Cincinnati, Ohio. I'm married to a minister of another Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) just across the river in norther Kentucky. It's a challenge, but I love every bit of it!
This entry was posted in Being Pastor and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

