Holy Uninspired

When Don and I were in our first year of our relationship he learned the hard way, that I am a complete snob about some things, and that I am still learning how to be a gracious receiver of gifts, at least from the people who know me the best. Don’t hear me wrong, I wasn’t spoiled with everything I ever wanted, but gifting in my home growing up was an adventure of sneakily learning what the giftee wanted and then with determination finding exactly the size, color, model that was the one the giftee wanted. As best as I understand it in very simplistic terms, in Don’s home a gift is something the gifter wants the giftee to have. Needless to say, the first few birthdays and Christmases were difficult. I got some good things and I am very thankful, but I also got a pink woven poncho, perfume (which I never wear, because my soap is scented), and a ring from a truck stop.

So, being the competitive type, Don has found the challenge in giving me gifts. (BTW, yes, I know I sound like an asshole right now…part of my charm I guess. It’s leading somewhere, just stay with me.) So a couple of years ago, Don got me a gift I knew I wanted, but I had no idea how much I would use it. For Christmas, I got a Keurig. It’s a single serving coffee maker that uses K-cups to make me one cup of coffee every morning. Recently I started buying K-cups that were meant to be brewed over ice. Now I am having iced coffee every day!

20130701-164841.jpg

Those of you who know Don know that he does not drink coffee. His vice is Diet Coke. I love a cup of coffee with just some milk every day. And before the iced coffee I was only drinking one cup a day, but the newness of the unsweetened iced coffee in my large reusable cup with a straw and a lid makes me feel like I have my own inexpensive Starbucks in my house.

There is something very satisfying about having a cup of coffee to sip on all day long. That moment of sipping on the straw reminds me of the break I will get from work later when I go to pick up my daughter. And it reminds me that there is more to my life than the computer. The momentary refreshment of the cold coffee on my tongue reminds me that rest and breaks are not only necessary, they are holy.

I know, it feels a little like a stretch and maybe even sacrilegious to connect coffee with the holy, but I would venture to say that many if not most of us have had a chance to contemplate the holy over a warm or cold drink, and there is something holy about the sensation of engaging both the touch and texture of the drink and the taste of it, and the smell of it. And in the midst of that sensual explosion is the creator who celebrates those little moments of relief, aka grace that save us from physical and spiritual thirst.

I love my Keurig, and I love my husband, and I love my children, and my church, and my work in ministry. I love my coffee, but I am inspired by the one who quenches the thirst of all who seek living water.

About lizdeweese

I'm a 30's something mom of two young children who serves as minister to a suburban church in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Cincinnati, Ohio. I'm married to a minister of another Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) just across the river in norther Kentucky. It's a challenge, but I love every bit of it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

