Wind

Tonight on our walk

the air was warm at first

still my arms were cold

not too cold, cause I didn’t want a jacket

then I realized there was a breeze

Like sea-breeze whipping around the trees and the houses

We walked along and the breeze blew

it was a nice feeling like a hug and a power I didn’t understand

it was comforting

warmed my insides

holy

Then I realized, it was wind

wind like breath whipping around me

begging me to come play

to let my hair blow in its breeze

It was wind

holy

Like a flood memories filled my mind

Wind like sea-breeze

bringing all the memories of beach walks and play

On St. Simons as a child

noticing the light house

catching sand dollars

hunting sea shells

in the marsh

crabbing

watching dolphins, cranes, gulls, sea grass

I remember the year, my sister

still an infant, lungs still developing

we went to the beach but couldn’t stay

the wind took her breath away

wind and breath

the power and the holy

breath and wind

holy

I remember walks at Laguna

bon fires at Huntington

the waves were electric

burgers at Ruby’s on the pier

the breeze

I needed a sweatshirt

the wind

holy

As we walked tonight in the Autumn breeze

past the pond with the fountain

the wind was wet and cool

the leaves having released from their trees

crackled as they blew across the grass

across the sidewalk

across the road

I was keenly aware of the breeze the wind and its message to me

Tonight before our walk a long Elders meeting that followed a day full of funeral

I was tired

but the wind spoke to me and said something is moving

this is exciting

something is happening

our discussion tonight of God’s timing

I was meant for this call and this congregation was meant for me

at this time and in this place

something is moving

the breeze, the wind

something is moving

the Spirit

Like on the morning when the apostles

the sent were overwhelmed by the sound of wind rushing

and flames danced on their heads as they spoke good news to the curious

On our walk I am on fire

not hot

just over taken by the flame

by the wind

by the Spirit

the time is coming

holy

wind

Spirit

holy

About lizdeweese

I'm a 30's something mom of two young children who serves as minister to a suburban church in the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in Cincinnati, Ohio. I'm married to a minister of another Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) just across the river in norther Kentucky. It's a challenge, but I love every bit of it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

